ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 04-01-2006   #1
MIZR1

Default ZR-1 Control Arm and Swaybar Bushings

I plan to replace the upper and lower control arm bushings and the sway bar bushings with polyurethane bushings. The chart at the link below indicates the ZR-1 has 26 mm front and rear sway bars and that the ZO7s have a 30 mm bar. My first question is whether all ZR-1s have the 26 mm front swaybar, or are some equipped with the ZO7 bar?

http://www.vettenet.org/susp_chart.html

My second question is can anyone confirm my understanding that the upper and lower control arm (front) bushings are the same dimensions on the ZR-1 as for standard C4s.

Thanks in advance for any help.
MIZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006   #2
tomtom72

Default Re: ZR-1 Control Arm and Swaybar Bushings

I'm no suspension expert but I just looked over at partszoneonline.com and all the control arms in the 90 mod yr are all the same so I would think that the control arm bushings are the same.

I don't know what to tell you about the swaybar applications. All I know about that is you can "change" or "tune" from understeer to oversteer to neutral by changing bar dia's but tread contact patch and spring rate has bearing on the tuning. Most street cars from the factory are "tuned" to have understeer for public use, even high performance cars. Oversteering cars are a bit more than a regular person can handle.

Tom
1990 ZR-1, Black/grey, #2233, stock. ZR-1 Net Reg Founding Member #316 & NCM member
tomtom72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006   #3
ZR-1 Mack

http://www.energysuspension.com

Hey Glenn

Check out this link when you get a chance. I found it in Corvette Magazine.

RM
ZR-1 Mack ... 91 ZR1 Black/Black #487 NY
ZR-1 Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006   #4
MIZR1