ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 General Postings

Old 09-24-2019   #1
juni78

Default Advices for new ZR1 buyer

Hi guys,

I guess it is most common question here, but I didnt find any relevant thread about it.

I would like to buy a ZR-1. I think of year 1990 (good current prices and I like the older front bumpers). My favorite colours are arctic white or black. I would like to get a stock car without mods (If possible).

I have in my collection C4 1995 LT1 (I solved couple of issues with that car), so I am not a newbie with the c4 vettes. However the ZR 1 is something different.

I alawys check the carfax. I guess that mileage under 50k is excellent and under 90k is fair. I dont want to spend more then 18.000 bucks.

What should I check when I will go to see one? I have read about checking oil leaks around cooler and the LT5 engine performance.

Do you think that common chevrolet dealers are able to do relevant pre purchase inspection?

What was the original accesories? Pizza box - with instructions, VHS tape, jack with lever, the wrench for targa and something else?

Thanks for any tips

J.
juni78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019   #2
QB93Z

Default Re: Advices for new ZR1 buyer

There have been a lot of discussions on these questions. If you search the Forum you will find a wealth of information.

Shopping for a ZR-1 is pretty much like shopping for any performance sports car. All of the same cautions and tips apply. You need to decide if you want an "all stock" car or if you are interested in more performance, with a modded ZR-1. There are a lot of modified ZR-1's available that can save you money on mods after purchase.

For a ZR-1, the "things to look for" are fairly specific. The secondary throttle system is unique to the ZR-1 and one of the things that makes the ZR-1 so special to me. Understanding how the secondaries work will help you to determine the condition of a ZR-1 you are inspecting.