ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 03-15-2018   #1
Wigert

Default Coolant leak

Hello everyone! I am new to the registry and own a 1990 zr1. I have several issues that need solving including a coolant leak, an oil leak and a very high oil consumption. But lets start with the coolant leak and i will start new threads on the other stuff when i get to those...

The coolant leak seems till be coming from the lowest part of the thermostat housing. I hope it is visible in the picture. I could not really see any coolant running from further up (even though it seems wet). I looked in the factory manual and there does not seem to be a seal in the housing? The bolt seems tight. Any suggestions om what to do would be much appreciated.IMG_20180314_205500.jpg

Skickat från min GEM-701L via Tapatalk
Wigert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018   #2
Dynomite

Default Coolant leak

http://www.jerrysgaskets.com/seal-co...at-90-95-11c1/

Thete are some tricks in removing thermostat.

Thermostats, Fans, Water Pump, and Radiators

Sent from my iPhone using ZR-1 Net Registry

Last edited by Dynomite; 03-15-2018 at 03:26 PM.
Dynomite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018   #3
A26B

Default Re: Coolant leak

There is a seal around the thermostat flange, inside of the housing.

The lowest part of the thermostat housing is where the leak end up, but may be higher up. You will need to clean the housing & connections, then dry off.

There are 2 heater hose connections on top of the housing that could be leaking, as well as the hose clamp visible in your photo (Have you tried tightening the clamp?).

Once dry, you can try to wrap a narrow band of folded paper towel around the heater hose connections. If they become wet, then you know the leak is in that area.

Once you locate the leak, better help can be provided.