ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 General Postings

Old 03-21-2009   #1
Paul Workman

Location: Squires (near Ava MO in the Mark Twain N'tl Forest) - Missouri
Default CLEAN!

With regard to cleaning, a while back there was a thread on the top (10) rated gasoline(s). For some reason the "search" wouldn't pull it up, but I remember that "BP" gasoline was NOT on the list. That article raised my eyebrows a bit since I only wanted to be using the best stuff in our "babies", and since that is the fuel I've been pouring into our Vettes almost exclusively for 7 years.

Annnyyyywaaaaay...When I pulled the injectors on my Z (as part of my porting project) I noticed the injectors were spotlessly clean! I'm talkin like new! And, I noticed the boss/bowl area on the primary side was completely clean. Although there was some dark oil(?) layer in the secondary injector area the secondary injectors were also spotless.

The injectors have under 5K miles on them, but I still expected to see some kinda build up. And, after seeing that BP was not on the list of top gasolines, I guess I wouldn't have been surprised; NOT seeing it did surprise me. Just an FYI, I guess.

Changing the subject to oil catch cans, that is definitely an item that is going to be added to my winter project list! I think I saw some "ready made" ones at a speed shop a while back...Might give one a try.

Back to "the grind"...Got a long way to go yet!

P.
Paul Workman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009   #2
tomtom72

Default Re: CLEAN!

I was kind of surprised not to see BP on that list also. I remember back in the 70's if you wanted the best unleaded hi-test, you went for amoco white 93.