ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 01-11-2016   #1
secondchance

Default 100 W amplifier upgrade for fronts

I am not an electronic engineer but I believe that 100W amp run at 25% sounds better than 50W amp run at 50%. No empirical data - just my personal belief.
I know there have been posts about using 100W Bose amp off of later Corvettes, Cadillacs, Infinities etc... So, I thought I would try this swap.

First I modified (break off plastic mounting points and a guide) the amp access panel to accept a replacement 100W amp.

Followed by modifying (enlarging the opening to accept replacement amp).

Made strips of 1/8" thick (2 layers) neoprene to allow for deeper amp dimension.

Final assembly shows amp access panel projecting out by 1/4" but still well within depression on the side rails.

With fader control position held constant, addition of these amps definitely pumps out more sound up front.

I know when C4 was introduced in 1984, GM touted how Bose was brought in and each amp was custom tuned to work with Corvette interior, etc... Later orginal Bose was upgraded with Bose Gold which is what most (if not all) ZR-1s came with.
I am still impressed with the system based on compact size of amps and amount of low frequency produced from such tiny front speakers and only 6.5" rear speakers.
I have added Pioneer AVIC 140 which provide HD FM (sound quality is much better than traditional FM) and EQ function. So, even if I negate fine tuning of Bose engineers by going to later Cadillac Eldorado front amps I am not so concerned.

Final verdict? I'm glad I went this route. Once I pick up a pair for the rear, those should be easier.
secondchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016   #2
Billy Mild

Default Re: 100 W amplifier upgrade for fronts

My system all works, but I don't think the system really gets the lows that well. What cars run these amps?
Billy Mild is offline   Reply With Quote