PDA

View Full Version : How many of you drag your Z?

cuisinartvette
08-23-2005, 08:30 AM
Any tips on how these cars do/don't like to be launched? Going to run her tomorrow night to get some baseline numbers before the mods start...
Not expecting too much, as the air is terrible where I run and it will probably be pretty warm.

Scoob
08-23-2005, 09:04 AM
I can't offer much in the way of tips as the 1/4 isn't my thing so I only do it for fun. I put the shocks on "tour" and launch at about 2k.

Aurora40
08-23-2005, 02:04 PM
I was launching the car around 4000-4500 rpm when I took it to the strip. I'm no expert either, but I was going by advice I'd heard here (or on corvetteforum?). It worked well, don't dump the clutch, but modulate the launch using it. It wasn't hard on the car and was sort of easy to control. Easier than gas and dump, for sure. If I dump it at about 2000 rpm, it breaks loose badly.

Z Factor
08-24-2005, 11:45 AM
Any tips on how these cars do/don't like to be launched? Going to run her tomorrow night to get some baseline numbers before the mods start...
Not expecting too much, as the air is terrible where I run and it will probably be pretty warm.

My post is predicated on the assumption that you will be launching it at the track.