PDA

View Full Version : Top end back together- silicone hoses leak

ALLTHECAMS
04-22-2019, 10:50 PM
So after having the top end ported and painting it myself it's back together with a set of Jerry's silicone hoses. Only problem is I've developed a good leak at the driver side coolant outlet pipe where the hose connects. Tommorow I'm going to disconnect both of those hoses and sand the paint off underneath. Should I use RTV? I have read this can help.9416

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

Dynomite
04-23-2019, 02:05 AM
I use a bit of Perma-gasket on coolant hoses and pipes.

https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.corvetteforum.com-vbulletin/400x400-1/80-sspermatex300_zpsaf26fa81_1__37573c22ba26fb97624d1 9dc0c48cc914bf0d3f7.jpg

Paul Workman
04-23-2019, 06:32 AM
I've no experience with new Silicone elbow hoses, but I do with painted pipes and RTV...and I'm just glad I was close to the house when the danged elbow hose blew off the end of the manifold pipe!

No more RTV on painted surfaces for me! Also, I recommend using those spring clamps - if nowhere else, on those manifold pipes "fer sher". Just my 2cents...

ALLTHECAMS
04-23-2019, 08:28 AM
I have a tube of permatex water pump gasket maker. Do you think that will work?

ALLTHECAMS
04-23-2019, 08:30 AM
I've no experience with new Silicone elbow hoses, but I do with painted pipes and RTV...and I'm just glad I was close to the house when the danged elbow hose blew off the end of the manifold pipe!

No more RTV on painted surfaces for me! Also, I recommend using those spring clamps - if nowhere else, on those manifold pipes "fer sher". Just my 2cents...Do you mean t-bolt clamps?

Dynomite
04-23-2019, 11:17 AM
I have a tube of permatex water pump gasket maker. Do you think that will work?