PDA

View Full Version : NCRS judging my 1990 ZR1

JMO343
01-21-2019, 08:31 PM
I am relatively new to new to judging world. I have a 1990 ZR1 with 5,500 miles and it is all original except for tires and the correct replacement ac Delco Battery. Should I get my car judged? I have few items to fix. Normal stuff from what I am told. Radio and lumber seats. I also have a lot of the console items I think. Any direction would be great on what is needed and how prepare the car. Looking to do this maybe late summer on Long Island NY.

Thanks
John #2321

DRM500RUBYZR-1
01-22-2019, 10:13 AM
I am relatively new to new to judging world. I have a 1990 ZR1 with 5,500 miles and it is all original except for tires and the correct replacement ac Delco Battery. Should I get my car judged? I have few items to fix. Normal stuff from what I am told. Radio and lumber seats. I also have a lot of the console items I think. Any direction would be great on what is needed and how prepare the car. Looking to do this maybe late summer on Long Island NY.

Thanks
John #2321

With a car as close as yours sounds to being ready, I would not sweat too much.
Certainly fix the radio, and if you want the seats as well, as each would be a 25 point deduct on the operations portion.
BUT, you likely will not have any other major deductions, so you could simply clean it and go as is, and likely earn a Top Flight.
You can lose up to 270 points and still Top Flight!
Remember to have and bring a fire extinguisher and an NCRS Decal, and you also get points for miles driven, so you can even lose a few more than 270 and still get your First Flight.
Clean, clean, clean, and scotch brite any surface rust off of major items.
Remember to drop and clean the spare tire and tub.
Find the closest chapter event to you and go for it!
You will then have a "punch list" for the next time IF you are unsatisfied with the results of the first attempt.